Dhangadi United lift trophy

0 30

KATHMANDU, APR 13 – Dhangadi United clinched the Kathmandu Cricket League title with a 105-run win over Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre (KCTC) in the final here at the Tudikhel ground on Sunday.

Dhangadi rode on fine 94-run knock from Amit Shrestha to post 248 in 44.1 overs. Bikram Thagunna, Mahesh Adhikari and Sunil Dhamala scalped three wickets each to bowl out KTCT for a paltry 143 in 24.3 overs. KCTC made disastrous start to their run chase after openers Mahesh Chhetri (0) and Ashish Dhami (7) falling prey to Thagunna.

KCTC wickets kept on tumbling but middle-order batsman Sanjay Basnet held firm to hit a fighting half century to lent respectability to their total. Basnet hit 37-ball 57 that included eight fours and a six. Aadil Khan chipped in 35 runs.

Earlier, Shrestha and Sunil Dhamala (73) laid the foundation for a big total with an astonishing 171-run opening stand. Nandan Yadav–who was later adjudged the best bowler of the tournament–broke the partnership by dismissing Dhamala. Dhamala hit nine fours and a six. Siddhant Lohani also contributed a quickfire 31 off 15 balls. Manish Sahani finished with figures of 4-24 for KCTC.

Sunam Gautam of SS Event was named the best batsman while Dhami took home the player of the series award.