PMO directs CTEVT not to implement decision to grant affiliation

0 35

KATHMANDU, APR 09 – The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) has directed the Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training (CTEVT ) not to implement the decision to grantaffiliation to 12 nursing colleges. A meeting ofCTEVT which is headed by Education Minister Chitra Lekha Yadav on Monday had grantedaffiliation to new colleges.

Secretary at PMO Shanta Raj Subedi said that the directive was issued as the affiliation s provided by the CTEVT breached the agreements reached between Dr Govinda KC and the government and the decision of the council of ministers. Subedi informed that a letter with the directive was issued to CTEVT on Wednesday.

However, a public notice has been issued grantingaffiliation to 12 medical colleges today.

The new colleges that have been grantedaffiliation do not have their own hospitals to impart practical knowledge.

The CTEVT has granted affiliation to Kathmandu based Mahendra Narayan Memorial Hospital and Kantipur Academy, Maiyadevi Nursing College , Chitwan, Nepal Sanjivani Institute, Dang, Kailali based Padma Hospital and Sudur Paschim Medical College, Samudayik Janaswasthya Sewa, Dhangadi, Subhakamana Technical College, Rupandehi, National Human Resource Development Academy, janakpur, Sindhu Sadabahar, Sindhupalchwok, Sujang Hospital, Doti and Bheri College in Bardiya.

Earlier, All Nepal National Free Students Union had submitted a memorandum demanding the affiliation s be scraped to the PMO, Ministry of Education and Chief Secretary Lila Mani Poudel.